Inspiring Locations: Creswell Crags

by TheAspiringAuthor

 

I often find myself searching for inspiration, whether it be planting a new lupin or hiking around in the wilderness (that doesn’t happen often!) It was suggested that we visit Creswell Crags. As we were in the land of Robin Hood, I felt obliged to listen and observe the surrounding environment. I was feeling horrendous, my throat felt like sandpaper each time I swallowed, nevertheless, we ventured up slopes and through the forestry. I came to face the stunning beauty that is Creswell Crags, it was worth all the pain and hassle!

DSC_0438

I found it somewhat therapeutic watching the baby ducks waddle around before splashing off in the water. It was a gloriously sunny day, I couldn’t help but let my mind wander as I explored the site.  The ideas flowed rather quickly, I was surprised at how engrossed I came in creating a middle chapter inside my head. I made a mental note and once I got back to my cabin I furiously typed away to ensure I didn’t forget anything. For those of you wondering, Creswell Crags is a limestone gorge that was home to many inhabitants in the last 43,000 years (during the last ice age!) There is an old tale which explores the ideology that the famed Robin Hood hid in these parts to hide and trick the Sheriff of Nottingham, he would lead the Sheriff to the gorge before racing off to the village. Then the common tale that he stole from the rich and gave it to the poor. I highly recommend a visit to this gorgeous place, I was left stunned with its beauty and history. There is so much information it can be hard to take it all in! If you want to, you are able to venture under into the caves to explore, but you have to wear a hard hat!

Screenshot_2

DSC_0433 DSC_0442  DSC_0444 DSC_0445

