Guilty Delights: Cinnamon Buns

by TheAspiringAuthor

Hello my lovelies!

I simply cannot get enough of cinnamon buns! The scent of them cooking is mouthwatering, the rich cinnamon and hidden chocolate chips! It occurred to me that in England, it is very hard to come across cinnamon buns, let alone good ones! I decided to try and make my own, I added a few special treats to cater towards my taste but here we go! The measurements I use are in cups, you can pick up these utensils from any department store, baking store or supermarket.

Ingredients Needed:

  • 5 Cups of plain flour (I use HopePride)
  • 1 packet of quick action dried yeast
  • 1 cup of milk (I use semi-skimmed)
  • 1/3 cup of butter (I use salted)
  • 1/3 cup of granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs at room temperature (I use the Happy Egg co)
  • 1 cup of light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup of butter for the filling
  • Chocolate chips, white, milk or dark. (Or all three!)

I use an electronic mixer, mine is the Breville SHM2 Hand and Stand Mixer. Throughout this process, I use my swirly hook (not too sure what it is called.)

Step 1 

Add two and a half cups of plain flour into your mixing bowl and combine with the packet of quick action dried yeast. You can either mix it with a spoon or on slow with your mixer.

Step 2

Once you have completed that, use a small saucepan on the hob. I have mine at a low/medium heat so the ingredients don’t get too hot. Considering mine is electric, you may need to vary the time used. Pour the milk into the saucepan, add the sugar and butter. Stir constantly to ensure it doesn’t burn at the bottom.  Once the butter has melted, stir it until it looks like a milky yellow swirl. You can test the heat of it on the inside of your wrist to ensure it is warm. (My mum said this is a trick used to test baby milk?!)

Step 3

Put your mixer on slowly and gradually pour in the milky mixture. It will become a loose, watery paste. Don’t worry! That is normal! Then go ahead and add your three eggs! After this, mix well to ensure that it is all combined together. I would recommend using the low setting on this.

Step 4

Then add the rest of the flour in small portions to ensure the mixer has time to combine it all together. You may find you may need less or more flour depending on your mixture and mixer. Once you’re satisfied, knead the dough to ensure it is smooth. Then leave it to set for around an hour, depending on your room temperature it may take longer. I tend to put tin foil over the top so it doesn’t go dry.

Step 5

While we’re waiting for it to rise, I like to be ready so I can have the delicious goodness for inside, ready for when the dough has risen. I like a lot of cinnamon on mine, but feel free to use a less amount. This is the same with the brown sugar. Mix in the rest of the butter, cinnamon, light brown sugar and a dash of flour. You will end up with an almost paste product.

Step 6

Roll out the dough and leave it an inch or so thick. Sprinkle the sugar mix over the dough and leave an inch space around the edges. I then sprinkle on a bunch of chocolate chips. You can add honeycomb, raisins, nuts, dates or whatever you enjoy. Then carefully roll it into a log, squeeze the ends to stop it coming out when baking! Then cut them up into slices, however thick you may like it. Then place them in a oven proof dish, mine is 23cm/9″. Leave them for a little while longer to rise, about 45 minutes.

Step 7 

I use my oven at 190 degrees, mine is electric so it cooks quicker. All ovens are different, so just keep checking from time to time. They should be golden brown on top, insert a toothpick or a fork, if the dough comes out, then cover it with foil and continue baking for a while longer.

Once they have finished, you will have a lovely cinnamon rolls to enjoy!

Hope you all enjoy!

